Self-Care 

by: Caroline Garcia 

Self-care: a phrase that seems ubiquitous these days! We’ve heard this phrase so often that the meaning can become lost. I’ve seen one too many self-care presentations in my life where the presenter gives helpful tips, then proceeds to exclaim that they do not follow self-care themselves. It can be daunting living in our busy world filled with school, work, and life only to be told we should have yet another priority. For me, self-care helps me remember what is important versus what seems to be important in the moment. It helps me stay in the present moment and find stability in the chaos. Here are tried and true, realistic self-care tips that have gotten me through my time at the GCSW: 

  1. Practice boundaries 

I find boundaries to be the most important aspect of maintaining self-care, especially when it comes to work! For example, I could easily work 40 hours per week in my practicum, and just recently I was asked if I could take on an additional group therapy session each week (a 3 hour commitment). As interns, it can be tempting to say yes to everything, but in this case I knew the extra physical and emotional labor would be detrimental to my own mental health. I find it important to dedicate time each day to relax and unwind – nobody wants to work with a social worker who is burnt out and exhausted! Since I am on track to meet my hours already, I felt comfortable explaining that I would not have time to take on the additional group, and my supervisor responded positively.  

  1. Create a morning or nighttime ritual 

I work best in the mornings, and I like to joke that I can’t accomplish any meaningful work past 5pm. My nighttime ritual is sacred! It’s my time to be alone and recharge from a busy day in school or co-facilitating group therapy sessions. I dedicate the 7pm-11pm time block to watching Real Housewives while eating dinner, completing my skincare routine, talking on the phone with family or a friend, reading, and watching YouTube. This creates a sense of predictability and stability in my day, and I always have something to look forward to. Other morning/evening ritual ideas include meditation, taking a walk, drinking coffee or tea, and taking a bath. 

  1. Embrace your inner child 

Being a graduate student comes with adult responsibilities, whether it be bills, chores, children, or simply staying sane. Embracing your inner child is a self-care reset that allows us to revisit the joy we shared as children. For me, I recently picked up a Nintendo Switch and was reminded of how much I loved video games as a kid. I also love hosting sleepovers with my friends where we watch classics like Legally Blonde and She’s the Man and just enjoy each others laughter. As social workers, we can spend significant time worrying about what we can’t control. Going back to our childhood joys can take some pressure off of us, even if for a few hours. 

Leave a comment