How Practicum has Shaped my Future as a Social Worker

As I’m about to begin my second semester, it’s impossible to relay my experience at the GCSW so far without mentioning practicum! Practicum opportunities were one of the main reasons I chose the GCSW, as the school has access to so many agencies across the diverse city of Houston. The GCSW matches each student to an individual practicum for the first year. The student completes a form that takes into account personal interest, location, and any special circumstances. I had a particular interest in school social work and was matched to an elementary school close to where I live. Aside from giving me slight baby fever (ha), the experience has taught me so much about both the kids and myself. Above all, it has solidified that I made the right decision in changing career paths from healthcare consulting to social work.

Ask any of my classmates and they will tell you that I brought up my practicum in class nearly every week. In particular, my position in school social work related to our Human Diversity and Human Development class as we studied the different stages of childhood in detail. We studied the importance of family and peer relationships, bullying, cognitive development, and identity development – all crucial stages that elementary students experience. It helped me understand how to talk to children using the strength’s perspective and using their family and school systems to their advantage. Children turn to you, the social worker, as a safe space for them to be themselves. Just giving them a voice can work wonders in making their day slightly better.

Working in school social work also reminded me how much there still is to learn, particularly when it comes to diagnosing conditions. Our school has several kids who are undergoing testing for conditions such as autism or ADHD and need the necessary 504 accommodations. I’m excited for my DSM class next semester so that I can become more educated in understanding how child behavior translates to certain needs. In my first semester, I could only sit and watch – but now, even from the sidelines, I can be an active participant in ensuring each child can succeed in school.

Leave a comment