International Student Experience

On my first day of the Associate Social Work Diploma program in 2014 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, I knew I would eventually work my way up to a Master of Social Work degree. I anticipated that it would be in one of the warm states in the United States of America. In the summer of 2017, my family and I were in Houston for a wedding, and I was so pleased with the diverse population/culture, weather, food, etc. I started nursing the desire to school in Houston, researched, networked with COOG Alumni, applied, and eventually got accepted to the prestigious Graduate College of Social Work at the University of Houston.

On the first day of arriving at the GCSW office, I received the warmest welcome to Houston hugs from the staff, and there, I knew I was in the right place at the right time. As an international student, I have a lot to talk about, and I will focus on priority for now.

Academics: Like every other GCSW student, I felt elated knowing that one of my classes started and finished on the same day. I only had four classes to contend with for the semester and learned a lot too. My Tuesday 8:30 am classes felt like weekly therapy even though I was there to learn therapeutic skills. It was a non-traditional class with impactful discussions with classmates and seasoned social work practitioners. You now know I had a favorite, but even the less liked class wasn’t a waste of my time and money. Each class had group work, which allowed learning from classmates and boosting team spirit. Individual classwork seemed manageable, and the instructors were there for support. Paying attention to datelines and evaluation instructions is a must. I lost a mark that could have put me in a higher- grade band – lesson learned.

Funding: A unifying concern of all International students is funding, but luckily I received a $1025 scholarship that qualified me for resident tuition, which drastically reduced my financial issues. I applied for some scholarships and did not qualify for most of them because of my international student status. I am still applying for more scholarships through the Scholarship Universe on UH Access and hope to hear back next semester. Never stop applying for scholarships, it is time-consuming but worth it. I also did not qualify for GLOBE Focused Learning Opportunity (FLO) for the same reason, thereby missing $10,000 that could have been used to pay a semester fee. I applied for numerous Graduate Assistant (GA) positions, some got back to me, and others never contacted me again after the interview. Toward the end of the semester, I was finally offered a GA position at the Centre for Student Empowerment. The income has been a relief, and the work experience is a good learning curve for both personal and professional knowledge.

Food on Campus: Moody Towers Dining Commons is the place to be. Affordable good food is a deal breaker for a food lover like me. Nothing beats their $6.50 buffet deal; an all-you-can-eat-deal on Fridays is a blessing. I try not to miss my lunch on Fridays, it’s better when you wear a red outfit, #CougarRedFriday is a thing. University of Houston Division of Student Affairs has a food pantry called Cougar Cupboard; free 30lbs uncooked food, fresh and frozen fruits, vegetables, and hygiene products are a blessing to behold as a student. Cougar Cupboard is an

page1image67003744 page1image67004160 page1image67004576

option to offset your monthly food expenses. For groceries, H.E.B. is my go-to place and reasonably priced with great food and nonfood options. Kroger may have your favorite food from your home country in their international aisle; it might be a bit pricey, but it feels good to identify a product you already know. If you have a family, a Costco card is a must; there is no need to waste money when you can buy bulk items.

Housing: If you have a family in Houston to accomodate you while you are schooling, you may have no housing concerns. University Housing is a good option for students who are single and willing to live on campus. For students with dependents, housing may be an issue at the beginning. Foreigners need a Social Security Number, background check, proof of income, and a good credit rating before renting a house, townhome, or apartment. Sadly, most landlords are skeptical of renting their property to foreigners; trust me, you can’t get the above in the first month of arrival. This experience left a bad taste of Houston in my mouth, and I would like to hear from other international students, hoping someone shares a positive experience.


Healthcare: I’m thankful for good health. University of Houston Student Health Centre is a great option when the body is weak and needs a little care. International students have a compulsory Health Insurance plan through the University of Houston unless they have an alternative equivalent. The Insurance plan covers office visits, urgent care, emergency room, pharmacy (otherwise known as RX) generic copay, and brand copay. No dental or optics. Recently, I scheduled a routine physical check to be sure I am as fit as I look. Knowing your health status is a great idea and a preventative health requirement. I checked the Campus Smile clinic and found that $100 can get you an initial dental visit, assessment, and cleaning, but you will have to pay out of pocket unless you have a dental insurance plan.

Transportation: School transportation has never been a problem, and it’s best to live closer. Even if you live far away, there are Park and Ride locations across the Greater Houston area with Express buses to the downtown area. The cool part about transportation is that it’s free if you apply to the University of Houston Metro COAST program. I receive an automatic $40 on my Student Coast Metro card every month when I have a $4 balance. I have never taken an Uber or any other ride share but you are free to use those. The City of Houston Metro transportation (express bus, regular bus, and train) is reliable. If you are always in a hurry, get yourself a car and be prepared for the traffic.

The above has been my experience so far and you can tell I am social worker with the lengthy post and priority list, haha. I look forward to the spring and summer semesters. I can’t wait to share more stories with you all.

Leave a comment