Connections and Influence: A Conversation with Dr. Charles Lea

When I enrolled in Program Planning and Evaluations with Dr. Lea, I had no idea I was about to find one of my biggest lifesavers in the GCSW program.  As an advanced standing student, I knew that I’d be jumping into the program in the middle of what I like to call the ‘spin-cycle.’ I was struggling, and I knew I needed to reach out, and reach out quick. I needed someone to tell me I was not crazy, allow me to curse if I needed to, and show me that social work doesn’t have a “once size fits all look”. So, with optimism in hand, I reached out to my professor whom I barely knew. I asked if we could chat, and he didn’t hesitate.  Since then, Dr. Lea has been one of my biggest role models at the GCSW and has impacted me in so many ways both big and small.  

For those that know Dr. Lea he has this vibe about him. It’s like academia meets swag, where brilliant denim effortlessly plays with personable leather. He helped me see that I had a place not only in grad school but in the profession of social work and that I decide how that looks. We’ve had several chats since that first meeting – talks where he’d share his own personal sayings. Saying where I’d rush to put pen to paper because they deserved to be remembered. He’d tell me that even though I was scared, my community needed me to show up as my authentic self; with my big gold hoop earrings and all.  

I wanted to sit down again with Dr. Lea and get to know him more. Here’s some of that conversation:  

ES: Ok, Dr. Lea, you ready to do this with me? 

CL: [smiling] I’m kind of nervous! 

[We both laugh, I assure him it’s nothing to be nervous about and I want him to keep it real with me…nothing fussy.] 

ES: Can you tell me how you got to social work? 

CL: Well, I always knew I wanted to help people. I think partly because of different identities that I hold and knew what it felt like to be in unsafe spaces. Because of that, I wanted to create comfortable, safe spaces for others, particularly for Black and Brown boys and men. I didn’t know shit about college! I knew I loved learning and it came easy to me. I was good at it, so education in many ways became my refuge. My undergraduate degree was in Sociology and while Sociology taught me a lot, I really wasn’t fulfilled. I was working in a middle school (basically doing social work) providing mental health support services and I felt limited in my role because I couldn’t address issues I wanted to address. That’s when I decided to go for my MSW at Michigan State and where I continued that personal work.  

ES: So then why a PhD? What continued to push you? 

CL: It was mainly research at that point. Again, I was doing research already but and felt limited in my role as an MSW. I knew if I wanted to change and contribute to the narrative, or body of knowledge, I needed to be the researcher. I wanted to do research that particularly targeted young men of color coming from a man of color. 

ES: So, can I ask you where does your confidence come from?  

CL: I think it comes from my own accomplishments and feeling different. I was always striving and being resilient because my family didn’t go to college.  

ES: What would you say has been your biggest challenge in the field of social work? 

CL: That’s tough. Through the lens of a Professor, I’s say not having textbooks that reflect values/experiences of others (different identities). It’s also extremely difficult balancing teaching, with social service responsibilities, other responsibilities, and finding my own personal time.  

ES: Ok, what would you say has been your most memorable moment in the field?  

CL: Making that move from the University of Washington to UH-GCSW, I was ready! And doing all the qualitative research and hearing all the voices and stories of the young people.  

ES: What is one piece of advice to students of color coming into the GCSW who may not feel like they’re the “traditional student?” 

[smiles again, as if to let me know he’s about to be 100% real with me]  

CL: I mean, you got to remember this work is not about you! You must engage in this work because you have a whole community that needs you! You can not get caught up in your own insecurities. You got to utilize your gifts because there are people waiting for those gifts. Simple as that.  

[He laughs and asks if that sounds too mean. I say no, not at all. I tell him it’s real, and honest, and students of color like myself need to remind ourselves of our greatness constantly and to get out of our own head.]  

ES: Ok Dr. Lea, now for the fun part. Answer quickly. What is your favorite quote? 

CL:  Oh, that’s a hard one because I have so many I really love! 1. “I would not have you descend into your own dream. I would have you be a conscious citizen of this terrible and beautiful world.” ― Ta-Nehisi Coates and 2. “Generations do not cease to be born, and we are responsible to them because we are the only witnesses they have. The sea rises, the light fails, lovers cling to each other, and children cling to us. The moment we cease to hold each other, the sea engulfs us, and the light goes out.” – James Baldwin 

ES: Favorite Movie? Don’t think too hard. 

CL: Coming to America and The Five Heartbeats! 

ES: What are a couple of favorite songs that helps you get through?  

CL:  Tupac – Keep Ya Head Up and Hit em’ Up; certain Gospel songs; Frankie Beverly & Maze – Before I Let Go  

ES: Last question! We made it. So, if money was not an issue and time was not an issue; What is one place you’d visit and why?  

CL: That’s hard! I’d say Africa particularly the western coast of Africa. For the history and because my roots come from there, and for healing purposes as well. Costa Rica would be next because I love the Rainforest, trees, water, animals, hiking, and it’s just so beautiful and relaxing.  

Written By: Erica Solis, GCSW Ambassador

Leave a comment