A Reflection on Professors

Crawford_Headshot         By Claire

I have attended some truly excellent, scholarly, and renowned academic institutions in my past, but I have never felt quite the depth of connection to professors that I do here at the GCSW. I think many of my classmates would agree that, regardless of subject matter, we have some professors here who have the ability to not only enhance our professional futures but also our personal lives. I have a professor who speaks with such eloquence, poise, humor, and general realness, that I want to record everything she says and write it down for my personal daily review. I have had a professor who can explain complex, abstract, and/or pragmatic topics with ease in such a way that students leave her classes with a skillset that will last a lifetime. I have had a professor who makes policy interesting and even exciting, which I never thought possible. I have had professors with the most incredible wealth of knowledge from years and years practicing social work who impart their lessons learned in the field. My classmates and I are somewhat like groupies…we wait for our professors after class, we go to office hours, we chat in the hallway, and I’ve seen students give tearful thanks to professors at the end of the semester. When I have mentioned certain populations or projects I might be interested in to my professors, they have typically engaged me and offered ways to help. I feel comfortable going to many of my professors for professional advice, and they consistently provide invaluable new perspectives.

Taking social work classes isn’t just about absorbing theoretic knowledge but is also a process involving the internalization of life skills and constant self-discovery. I have been continuously impressed with my professors’ ability to facilitate a safe but demanding environment in which students can learn from the professor, classmates, and themselves. It’s hard to believe I only have one more semester of classes from some of the professionals I look up to most. The professors are here for YOU, and they are some of the most incredible resources you will have in your professional career. Take advantage of their time and expertise while you’re here.

1 Comment

  1. I wish I had had some of your professors; learn in an environment where confidentiality existed and as a student feel safe. A safe confidential place to express field placement experiences so that you can be corrected and fine tune skill-set, directed in the right direction. A true social work environment where advocating for clients is the first step rather than fear.

Leave a Reply

