Hogg Foundation Bilingual Scholarship

by Flor, LMSW

UH GCSW Alumna, May 2012

When I first started thinking about applying to graduate school the first thing I thought about was the tremendous DEBT that I was going to get myself into. I already had money to pay back for undergrad, and grad school was just going to add to that stack. Money was one of the main reasons why I decided to come back home to Texas and go to graduate school here. Living in Texas is super affordable and so is going to school. When I applied to the Graduate College of Social Work I started looking into scholarship opportunities and found that UH offered a Hogg Foundation Scholarship for bilingual Spanish speaking students.  I immediately checked off that I was interested in applying for it! During the summer before school started I got an email about setting up an interview for the scholarship….I was superrrrr excited and nervous at the same time…this could solve my financial issues for grad school. To make a long story short, I and another incoming student won the scholarship. When I found out, I was literally in tears. The Hogg Foundation has been one of the biggest blessings for me in grad school!!!

Here are a few facts about the Hogg Foundation:

  • The foundation was founded in 1940 by Miss Ima Hogg, daughter of former Texas Governor James Stephen Hogg, to promote improved mental health for the people of Texas. The foundation’s grants and programs support mental health consumer services, research, policy analysis and public education projects in Texas.
  • The purpose of the Hogg Foundation bilingual scholarship is to meet the demands of the growing Latino population in Texas. As reported by the University of Texas: “The demand for bilingual social workers is greater than ever. Studies have shown that populations of color are under-represented in social work and other mental health professions. As a result, these populations are far less likely to receive effective mental health services that meet their cultural and linguistic needs.”

If you are applying to the GCSW and speak fluent Spanish do not hesitate in applying for the Hogg Foundation Scholarship…it is a great opportunity you do not want to miss.

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations Flor!!! Very proud of your hard work and dedication. We need more people like you.

    Don

Leave a Reply

